Department Info

The objective of the Monroe Fire Department shall be the saving of lives, and the protection property endangered by fire or other disasters, to promote the teaching and practice of fire prevention and to promote social welfare of its members.

Department Badges


Department Chief Officers 
  • Chief - Jon Dolch
  • 1st Assistant Chief - Rich Lenahan
  • 2nd Assistant Chief - Nick Gordon
Department Civil Officers 
  • President - Justin LaMarch
  • Vide President - Sean Rumler
  • Secretary - Christine Paez
  • Chaplin - Frank Faber

Department Officers

Safety Officers
  • St #1 Michael Gormley
  • St #2 Thomas Lowe, Christine Paez
  • St #3 Rich Haley
Fire Police Officers
  • George Mitchell - Captain
  • Dustin Levi- Lieutenant
Dive Team Officers
  • Gerald Fraioli- Dive Captain
  • Glen Muente - Assisitant Dive Captain
FAST Team Captain
  • Lucas Mahran
  • Louis Gordon
  • Jim Guilick
  • Gregory Epsaro
  • James Ebner
  • Robert Kehril

Monroe FD - 100% Volunteer

Monroe Fire Department is part of the Orange County Mutual Aide plan Official County Dept Designation: 28 - Battalion 5

We are proud to be the home Departmet of the following Orange County, N.Y. Division of Fire Service Officials....

 Vini Tankasali (36-01)
Deputy Commissioner

Charles Mancuso, Jr. (36-3) 
Deputy Fire Coordinator

Deputy Fire Coordinator

Brief Department History

In 2011, the three fire companies serving the Town of Monroe (Mombasha Fire Company, Harriman Fire Engine Company, and Lakeside Fire and Rescue Company) merged to create the Monroe Joint Fire District. 

The three fire companies respond together for all calls within the boundaries of our Joint Fire District. By combining resources, the Monroe Joint Fire District is able to provide a wide range of fire and rescue services as part of a consolidated Department. 

The three companies work together on a daily basis, and routinely participate in joint training sessions to achieve the highest level of integration. Three Chiefs and several junior officers oversee the combined Department.

Past Department Presidents

2011-2013 Charles W. Crover
2014-2015 John Centofanti
2016-2017 William J. Scolza
2018-2020 Gerry Fraioli 

2020-2023 Sean Rumler

Past Department Chief Officers

2011-2012 Vini Tankasali
2012-2013 George Linderman
2014-2015 Timothy W. Carr
2016-2017 Daniel L. Bennet
2018-2020 John Scherne 

2021-2023 Richard Lenahan